The Road to Less Stress

As I was heading south on Florida’s Turnpike, I smiled when I saw this sign: “Florida Turnpike Stress Free Highway.” What a lofty promise.

Jupiter Lighthouse is the closest lighthouse to West Palm Beach.

Yet, it had a special meaning to me. I recalled the years when I drove on I95 bypassing the Turnpike going through West Palm Beach and Fort Lauderale. The traffic congestion added 2 hours to the trip.

Hillsboro Lighthouse is at Pompano Beach near Fort Lauderdale.

I was always in a sour mood when I reached my destination. Happy to see my daughter and my grandson yet upset about the 2 hour delay.

Finally on Christmas, my thoughtful daughter gave me a SUNPASS prepaid toll card for the Florida Turnpike.

Cape Florida Lighthouse near Miami is the oldest structure in South Florida.

Funny how it often takes someone else’s insight, kindness and intervention to get us out of self defeating habits and put us on “The Road to Less Stress.”

elainemarieartist.com

Leave a comment