Blessed are those who see beauty in humble places when other people see none. Camille Pissarro.

Built in 1855, this lighthouse “…looks completely lost and out of place in its landlocked surrounding, like a sad footnote from a bygone era.” The Times-Picayne.

I believe sharing beauty in humble places is the role of the modern artist. Gone are the days when artists painted altar pieces and art for the so-called nobility. Pissarro’s impressionist street scenes and landscapes showed beauty in everyday places.

Pissarro’s quote reminded me how I had found beauty in two abandoned lighthouses.

I was a little disarmed and disheartened when I first saw the abandoned Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse sitting on grass behind a levee. There it was the campus of the University of New Orleans without any fanfare or sign. Perhaps it was the lighthouse’s quiet majesty; the compelling colors or abandonment that touched me.

I noticed that most people hurried past this lighthouse on the way to see the famed Brant Point Lighthouse a few steps away. It was as if the Old Brant Lighthouse was invisible. People only paused to look at the old lighthouse when they saw me drawing it.

Old Brant Point Lighthouse has no lens; perhaps this is why it connected with me. The lens is perhaps the most important element of the lighthouse. Without the lens and the lantern room, the lighthouse seemed visionless and purposeless. It seemed to be a metaphor for the current state of the lighthouse.

Voicesoflighthouses.com

elainemarieartist.com

CamillePissarro.org

Leave a comment