Transforming Memories into Hope

My favorite memories are of this lightship In London that is converted into music studio and an abandoned lighthouse on the campus of New Orleans University.

Memories evoke strong emotions. They often have a way of becoming larger than life. Marketers use their power to sell products.

Memories can also transform grief into hope. I know because I recently lost three loved ones. My memories have provided me comfort and renewal.

I was a little disarmed and disheartened when I first saw the abandoned lighthouse sitting on grass behind a levee. Perhaps it was Port Pontchartrain Lighthouse’s quiet majesty; the compelling colors or abandonment that touched me. This encounter touched me.

These past couple of years since my lighthouse travels have grounded to a halt, all I have are memories to fuel my art.

The breathtaking coast of Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way leading to Fanad Lighthouse mesmerized me. Surrounded by spectacular mountains, Fanad Lighthouse epitomizes all the beauty and splendor of the Emerald Isle. It is considered one the world’s most beautiful lighthouses.

My trip to Ireland was the highlight of my lighthouse travels. My memories give me a sense of contentment and peace.

Memories have a way of becoming mile markers. They represent significant moments as we journey through life.

As I think about past memories, I’m hoping not to get so lost in them that I forget to create meaningful memories today. I may need them in the future.

elainemarieartist.com

Leave a comment