When everything seems like a struggle remember about the view from the top-Unk

Diamond Head derives its name from sailors in the 1820s who mistakenly thought they discovered diamonds on the volcano’s slope. In 1899 a 40 foot lighthouse was built. It was rebuilt in 1918 to a height of 57 feet and a spacious keeper’s dwelling was added. Six years later it was automated. The quarters are now occupied by the commanding officer of the Fourteenth Coast Guard District.

I must admit my disappointment when I discovered a visit to Diamond Head Lighthouse in Honolulu was off limits. It seems the Coast Guard had taken up residence there. The only option was to take a two hour hike to the summit of Diamond Head.

The smooth paved roadway on the entrance to the trail was not a true indicator of things to come. A long unsteady cobbled trail ahead was challenging and seemed to be endless. I struggled to keep my balance. But when a toddler passed me effortlessly, I gathered more strength despite my shame.

To climb the stairs to the summit, took prayers and perseverance. (Taking two years off from climbing lighthouses during Covid took its physical toll.) The view was well worth the climb. I was mesmerized by the distant view of Diamond Head Lighthouse. The turquoise ocean showcased its magnificence and captivated me. The waves splashed in adoration.

elainemariefineart.com

Leave a comment